A Letter to My 15 Year Old Self

Thursday, 22 June 2017

A Letter to My 15 Year Old Self

Dear Emma, 

I know, it's hard. I know it's horrible and you have those thoughts ... continuously but you'll become so much stronger and help so many people by not pursuing them. Your confident underneath all that anxiety and depression, and yes you have anxiety and are depressed it's  just going to take a while for you to get it diagnosed, recognise it and come to terms with it. It will effect so many relationships and will continue too that you can't change, unfortunately, but it will also create so many relationships and help you to see a light in life that you didn't see before. 


You have to stand up for yourself and what you believe, if you don't think somethings right say something, speak up, be confident, be strong, be you. Your going to come across so many people who just don't like you, for no other reason than for just being you and that's okay because there them and your you and you do your on things. Keep your head down in school like you do and don't be too worried about those 'friendships' because you'll realise later on in life that they won't matter because the people who want to be your friend will stick around when you need them most, you'll learn that the hard way. 

Your not going to like mushrooms, cabbage or leek when your older ... no matter what your Dad says, your taste buds will not change and they will still all be rank.

Oh, and those body image concerns? Not being as skinny as everyone else, or as fit as everyone else, or having legs or abs like everyone else .... screw it. Your going to get to a point in your life where your so happy with your body and so confident in it you'll go to the beach one day in the UK no less, have your bikini on and sunbath and not give a damn what ANYONE else thinks .... and it'll feel epic. 

Your going to have a corner of the internet that's going to help you more than you can imagine and it's going to help others more than you could ever realise, your going to have moments when you just want to give up with it .... don't, keep going power through and you'll reap the rewards of what it can do for others. Ignore the haters, ignore the family/friends/work colleagues who disagree with you ... if you believe it's right and the mistake you have to make in order to be happy, make it. You have to make mistakes to learn from them and that's the greatest lesson you'll ever learn. 

And no matter what you think about any other metal in life, white gold is going to be your jam it's just going to take the right person to show you it is. 

You might not realise it or be told but your eyes and your smile are your best assets, look after them. There going to get you places and get you recognised, for all good things trust me! Your legs are long yes but that's what makes your waist look tiny and you'll learn the hard way by looking back at photos that you only really suit body con or close fitting dresses and outfits ... you cannot and i repeat cannot pull off skater of Aline, you look odd. Your beautiful inside and out you might not be told that very often but you are, and your worry will help also help so many people without you realising and sometimes you will realise because they'll find you. 

Remember, chin up, keep your head high and strong, heart full and mind positive, and remember you can change the world you just have to but try. 

Emma x

PS - If you want a tattoo(s) go and get it! Your worry may be a blessing but it can also be a pain in the arse. 


Staying Sun & Fitness Safe This Summer

Monday, 19 June 2017

Staying Sun & Fitness Safe This Summer

With the temperatures rising across England this week and everyone stripping off to make the most of it, I wanted to share the top ways that you can stay safe in the sun and also enjoy it! From sun worshipers to outside fitness fanatics. 


Exercising outside? Wear a hat!! You have no idea how fast you can dehydrate through your scalp.

Drink water, and then drink some more and then drink some more after that. 

Wear a sports suitable suncream, all sun creams nowadays come with sport options that are water and sweat repellent. 


Stay out of the sun between 12pm-3pm, this is when it's at it's hottest peak and can give you heatstroke. 

Keep alternating between the sun and the shade if your out all day, give your skin chance to have a break! 

Drinking drinks that have added electrolytes will really help to ensure that you keep hydrated and aren't dehydrating your body. 


Want to stay protected without having to cover up? Wear light breezy clothing that covers areas like your shoulders, you'll be able to stay cool and still look chic.

Overheating whilst your working out? Opt for clothing that has sweat wicking fabric, this will help to keep your body temperate regular and help to prevent you feeling faint. 

Emma x



  

@Realist_Review 
SC @emmaroserobins

The Best Fitness Advice Around

Thursday, 15 June 2017

The Best Fitness Advice Around 

Today I wanted to compile a list of all the best fitness advice I've received from Personal Trainers, to Fitness Bloggers, to the girl who works out at the same time as me and share with you what's really worked! 


Cutting out carbs doesn't mean you'll be skinny, just cut down the amount you eat.

Introduce more leafy greens into your diet, it'll not only aid weight loss but also help to clear your skin. 

Drinking water everyday will help your body/mind/skin/eyes/organs and you'll start to feel the difference. 
Getting at least 8 hours sleep a night will make a massive difference to your appetite and your bodies response to eating. 

Doing a ridiculous amount of cardio isn't maintainable ... it's silly. 

Comparing yourself to other people doesn't mean jack, it'll just make you feel worse and every single person is different. 
Eating intuitively is okay to do for your body, eat when your hungry and drink water when your not. 

It's okay to eat out, just add healthier choices to your meal and you won't feel bad (even though you shouldn't be feeling bad anyway!)


Emma x



  

@Realist_Review 
SC @emmaroserobins

Getting Back on My Fitness Game

Monday, 12 June 2017

Getting Back on My Fitness Game 

I haven't been to the gym in 3 weeks ... and that's okay, because when I was going prior to that I was in a plateau and didn't know how to get out of it. My fiancé was unfortunately in hospital for nearly 2 weeks and I lost a lot of weight through stress and poor eating, and looking at myself now I lost the weight i was trying so hard to loose at the gym. So I'm starting fresh and wanted to share with you what I'll be doing to get back on thee cross trainer!


Eating a more Flexitarian based diet, i've noticed cutting down on the amount of meat/dairy I eat has a massive influence on my mood and weight! 

Making more health conscious choices when I'm out! Only looking at the vegetarian or lighter options on restaurant menus and maybe indulging in a desert or bread roll instead, whatever I'm craving but also balancing. 

Getting back into the gym on the cardio but for a shorter amount of time, so 10-15 minutes opposed too 20-30 minutes. 
Introducing more body strength exercise and free weight exercises instead of weight machines, your body should be your machine. 

Cutting chocolate out of my everyday diet and utilising it as an occasional treat (probably where all of my weight gain is from!). 

Trying to walk more and parking that little bit further away in the car park.


Actively taking the stairs and not the escalator or lift!!!!

Spending more time at the park with the children in the family. 

Taking an interest in supplements and using them in the correct manner to learn more and also to aid my bodies development. 
AND last but certainly not least, not having a short term goal! I want this body to be my long term body and I want to be able to feel that I can take my clothes and feel incredible no matter what the occasion! 


Emma x


  

@Realist_Review 
SC @emmaroserobins

Budgeting in Your First Home | Adulting 101

Thursday, 8 June 2017

Budgeting in Your First Home | Adulting 101

So, your first home. Exciting right? What's not exciting is the sudden realisation that you'll have to pay for everything on your own or halved with your partner or room mate ... I know it's daunting and scary and everything in-between, so today I wanted to go through my top tips on how to budget and still live your life!


NUMBER ONE ... If your not using it, turn it off / unplug it you don't need to be paying for unused electric or gas! Are you crazy? 

Cheaper supermarkets will be your best friend, in the UK places like Lidl & Aldi are bloody brilliant for all your common supermarket foods for a quarter and sometimes even less than that for the price. 

Meal planning for the week will ensure you don't overspend on foods that you won't utilise! 

Buy energy saving appliances, like light bulbs ... you'd be amazed at how much they'll bring the cost down. 


Meal prepping some larger amounts will not only save you money but also save you time! Making a bulk of tomato pasta sauce and then freezing it will ensure you always have it on tap opposed too buying jar sauce. 

Buying from new doesn't always have to be the case, ask family and friends if they have anything unwanted they would like to donate! 

Second hand shops or online sites like Gumtree are great ways of buying (sometimes) brand new furniture for a quarter of the price. 

Plan ahead, hitting up places like B&M or Next at Home Sale is a great time to buy some beautiful decorative pieces without breaking the bank! 


What are your top money saving tips? 

Emma x

  

@Realist_Review 
SC @emmaroserobins

Introducing a Flexitarian Approach to Eating

Monday, 5 June 2017

Introducing a Flexitarian Approach to Eating

As many of you know I've been a bit rubbish recently with my posts and posting them on time but it's been a whirlwind of a month, so today I thought I'd let you in on what I've been trying to do! I've recently been trying to have a more Flexitarian approach to eating and what I eat, this simply means I'm trying to cut down on the amount of animal products and meat I consume not cutting it out. 


Encourage others, don't be pious: The only things worse than a reformed smoker is a reformed carnivore. 

Count up what you save in the weekly shop: You can get a lot of fruit, veg and pulses for the price of a pack of sausages! 

Replace meat substitutes with fresh food: A well done vegetarian Full English with Quorn bacon, hash browns, avocado, baked tomatoes, bake beans is a thing of splendour. 

If your missing meat try Quorn: The meat substitute that will help you transition and aid your Flexitarian diet. 


Get new recipes: Talk to other vegetarians about what they eat and buy a couple of books. 

Master some dishes to cook after work: Your easy no thinking go too recipes! 

Try new pulses and beans: There the easiest things to add to your dishes to bulk them out a bit! 


What are your top tips? 


Emma x

  

@Realist_Review 
SC @emmaroserobins

How to Furnish Your First Home | Adulting 101

Monday, 29 May 2017

How to Furnish Your First Home | Adulting 101

Myself and my partner were recently accepted on our first home, so we are now proudly renting a beautiful flat! So today I wanted to run through some pointers that will not only help you spread the cost of everything you'll need to buy but also help you have everything you need before you even consider moving! 


Start a bottom draw before you even consider moving, buying little things for a long time will save you so much more money in the long run!

Spread the cost of larger items, if you have to buy a fridge/freezer/washing machine and you can't afford to buy all 3 at once try spreading the cost over a few months - a year. 


Hitting places like Primark, B&M, Poundland etc, will give you so much creativity with decor without breaking the bank!!

But investing in pieces like cushions for your sofa will give your home an expensive feel without breaking the bank on everything. 


Accessorising your home opposed to buying large pieces of furniture will not only make it easier when you want to redecorate but will make moving around hassle free. 

If you have a smaller home, utilising colour can make a massive difference!!! For example, our bedroom is white so using white wardrobes and draws with our dark black bed frame will create contrast but also make the room look bigger ... illusion. 

 What are your top tips? 

Emma x


  

@Realist_Review 

SC @emmaroserobins

L'Oreal True Match Beige Concealer | Reviewed

Thursday, 25 May 2017

L'Oreal True Match Beige Concealer | Reviewed 

Today I wanted to try out the L'Oreal True Match concealer because I've seen so much hype around the foundation but nothing on the concealer! So today I'm trailing the concealer to see if it lives up to the hype of its co-foundation. 


I have the colour Beige in this concealer which is the middle kind of shade in the range, there are only 3 choices which is a downfall to this range as the foundation has such a variety. Personally, Beige matches my skin with a bit of a tan but any lighter and I don't think it would work, if you are at an in-between shade I would recommend buying two colours and mixing them to create your custom shade. Not ideal and expensive but if you want this concealer then it may be the way! 



The consistency of this concealer is beautiful, it applies slightly thick but blends out seamlessly and doesn't go caked up under the eyes or around the mouth/nose area. The concealer did blend out a bit too much with a beauty blender under the eyes and wasn't as full coverage on first application but this does mean that you can build it as you go and create a custom coverage depending on your look. The longevity is amazing and for work days where you haven't got time to touch up or your a busy person on the go all the time, this will be your new best friend! 


Have you tried the True Match concealer? 


Emma x

  

@Realist_Review 

SC @emmaroserobins

Things I've Learned This Week

Monday, 22 May 2017

Things I've Learned This Week 

Happy Monday! I know what your thinking eurgh Monday but a lot of things are falling nicely into place recently for me and I feel a lot of positivity, so today I wanted to share what I've learnt this past week. 


1. Life's too short to worry about anything long term. 

2. There is no need to keep negative people in your life, seriously cut them out. 

3. All good things WILL fall into place, even when you least expect them too. 


4. I trying to become a Flexitarian and have recently discovered I really like Soya milk, who knew! 

5. Being previously jobless you appreciate money so much more when you have your first pay check, and that's kind of nice. 

6. Book in advance to get your beauty bits done because your favourites book up quick! 


What have you learned from the past week? 


Emma x



  

@Realist_Review 

SC @emmaroserobins

My Current Fav Instagrammers!

Thursday, 18 May 2017

My Current Fav Instagrammers! 

I've been having one of those pretty rubbish months recently and seeing a few posts of my favourite instagrammers has not only given me hope but cheered me up for my future endeavours and given me motivation. So today's post is a little shoutout to those behind the Instagram's. 


1. @carlyrowena

2. @lydiaemillen


3. @lefashionfetish 

4. @rosielondoner

5. @bethtruemanfit 

Emma x


  

@Realist_Review 

SC @emmaroserobins