Elemis Foaming Facial Wash

Monday, 21 August 2017

Elemis Foaming Facial Wash

Say hello to my new favourite refreshing facial wash, the Elemis Foaming Facial Wash is the must have in my evening skincare routine and makes me feel just oh so lovely! A deeply purifying foaming cleanser that gently sweeps away pollutants and impurities whilst respecting the skin’s natural oils.


This cream cleanser carefully lifts away the debris of the day, including make-up, in a light but luscious lather, helping to reduce any excess oil that may have built up, leaving the skin feeling purified and deeply cleansed, refreshed and balanced without stripping the skin of it's natural balance. The scent is the most unreal I've ever experienced, it's bright / aromatic / balanced but so so simply happy, it contains  a blend of lemon, orange, ylang ylang and peitigrain and these all contribute to making the cleansing ritual a pleasure. 
Sympathetic to even the most sensitive skin, this gentle wash combines extracts such as Fig, and Apple amino acid, which all help to produce the foamy texture and protects the skin’s moisture barrier. Pracaxi oil, extracted from a tree native to the wet, tropical terrain of the Amazon, works to soften skin, but also helps maintain its delicate balance, respecting the skin’s natural oil levels. 


What Elemis products have you tried? 

Emma x

  

@Realist_Review 
SC @emmaroserobins

How To Get Sh*t Done | Adulting 101

Monday, 14 August 2017

How To Get Sh*t Done | Adulting 101

You've just moved into your first place and the realisation of being an adult sets in ... sh*t it's time to get serious. You have a few weeks of keeping on top of things but then every week you have to have one day or evening where you just blast through all the things you've been putting off! So today we're going to run through all the ways you can make the life admin day so much easier. 


Write a to do list as you go, on your phone or on a piece of paper just write everything down that you need to sort and you won't forget anything!

Set your jobs in order of priority, always make sure you get your most important tasks done first. 

Separate your work and personal tasks, so if you need to buy a bag for work and also buy your nephews birthday present make sure you keep them on separate lists... the birthday present is probably more important. 


Make sure you block out time to get stuff done, whether that be a Sunday or one evening in the week. For me, Fridays are great evenings. I get the shopping done and come back clean up and get all my life admin bits done. 

Remove physical distractions .... yes, put your phone on airplane mode and ignore it!! 

Try and physically manage your tasks, so all your paperwork bits put into one pile so you know you won't miss any!


Be realistic, if you know your to do list is too long then split it up and chill. Take your time, no one said there was a time limit. 

Start to organise yourself when your completing your to do list, a tidy mind will in turn equal a tidy life and trust me it makes EVERYTHING a lot easier. 


How do you get sh*t done? 

Emma x

  

@Realist_Review 
SC @emmaroserobins

Elemis Pro-Collagen Oxygenating Night Cream

Sunday, 6 August 2017

Elemis Pro-Collagen Oxygenating Night Cream

Birthdays are all about getting that must have skincare and makeup that you don't want to fork out for yourself .... and my 23rd birthday brought me all the very best the skincare game has to offer! Todays little feature is on the Elemis Pro-Collagen Oxygenating Night Cream although I haven't been trailing this product for long it's already creating an impression. 


This is a super thick, luxurious feeling night cream that makes you feel super posh using it! I am a massive fan of the Elemis brand and always have been because they create products that work and give your skin everything it needs. The Elemis night cream is an oxygenating night cream that helps your skin's natural regeneration process, it essentially just gives your skin a helping hand. The blend of active ingredients like Laminaria Mediterranean algae and Padina Pavonica helps to improve skin suppleness, firmness and elasticity. The science behind the oxygenating is supported by anti-oxidant rich Sesame and Avacado oils delivering free-radical protection, this allows you to wake up with actively firmer looking skin with a radiant complexion. 



This night cream is suitable for all skin types *hail the Elemis creators* and will also help to delay the signs of premature ageing! The consistency of this cream is very thick and you would think it would be very heavy on your skin, but it just sinks into your skin and is really easily absorbed  Especially if you have dehydrated skin your skin will just drink this up like there's no tomorrow! They say you need to start using anti-ageing products or more targeted skin care at the age of 25 but there's no harm in beating the bus and getting in a tiny bit earlier. 



Have you tried the Elemis brand yet? 

Emma x


  

@Realist_Review 
SC @emmaroserobins

Turning 23 | The Realisation

Monday, 31 July 2017

Turning 23 | The Realisation 

Getting older is strange for anyone and everyone, when your younger you think it's great because you get parties and balloons and so many toys, when you hit your teenage years it's all a blur and your just anxious to get to 17 and learning to drive, and then you hit your twenties and you start to realise a lot and see things a lot differently. 


I turned 23 yesterday and experienced a whole whirlwind of emotions and realisations and getting older is a really strange feeling. I realised I'm not where I envisaged that I would be by 23 but feel like I've accomplished a lot, I discovered that I did want to celebrate my birthday with a chosen few opposed to years of not wanting too, and realising that material items aren't as important as they used to be when you where younger. 


Growing older you see a lot of things and experience a lot of things, some good and some bad but you learn from them and make different mistakes instead. So today the day that I've turned 23 years of age I feel lost, really really lost and I'm not sure why? I feel like I've had my whole life flash before me and I'm not sure how I feel how I've used my time. I feel as though I'm questioning everything about my decisions and where I am in life and it's weird. 


So, as I'm now old and questioning life I am more determined than ever to fulfil my life to every second because I have the privilege to live in it. 

Emma x


  

@Realist_Review 
SC @emmaroserobins

TMI | Lets Talk Period Hacks

Monday, 24 July 2017

TMI | Lets Talk Period Hacks 

Today I wanted to talk TMI and talk about periods ... I know it's a real tough topic for teenagers especially and some adults still feel uncomfterable talking about it but I feel once your happy in yourself then the confidence to talk about things like this will come! Today we're going to go through all the period hacks I've learnt and all the things you can do to make your period more comfterable. 



Using little cosmetic bags to put your period tools in will help to keep them discrete and all in one place. 

Keeping a small pack of Femfresh wipes when your out all day will help you to feel clean and fresh downstairs when on the go!! And using a wash like Femfresh when showering will really help to maintain your PH levels. 

Start a pre-period regimen: There’s not much you can do to relieve cramps or heavy bleeding once your period starts. So to avoid popping pain killers, prevention is key so drinking at least a litre of water a day will help to flush it through. 


Wearing bikini bottoms when on your period will be your life saver if you leak, there so much easier to wash out!! 

Curb your vices: I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but caffeine, alcohol, excess salt, and fatty foods and can all make your period symptoms worse. Resisting your cravings can actually help to stave off cramps and bloating. If you can’t survive without your morning cup of joe, make it a half-caf and try to hold off until mid-day on the crampiest day of your period.


Making sure you move around enough will really aid the cramps disappearance, making sure you do some gentle exercise every will help you to move them cramps and pains out of there. 

Sleep it off: If none of this is working for you, go ahead and sleep it off. It’s not just you… it’s scientifically proven that you’re more tired during your period – increases in progesterone levels that occur in the second half of your cycle actually do make you more sleepy.



What are your top period tips? 

Emma x

  

@Realist_Review 
SC @emmaroserobins

How To Give Up 'Stress'

Monday, 17 July 2017

How To Give Up 'Stress'


I've recently been dealing with a lot of stress and it's caused me not to sleep at night, makes me unable to cope in the day with basic business, and is just generally causing me to be unwell which has also lead me to be a bad blogger and not post for a while (also due to having no flipping internet). So today from now, I want to try and give up 'stress' and together I think we can do it, we'll go through the best ways to deal with things and what to do when you are ... 
BREATH ... Take a deep breath in and out, walk away from whatever is stressing you out and just breath deeply and take time to refocus. 

Write a to do list and plan ahead! Keeping a pad and pen next to your bed will help you empty your mind before you sleep too. 

TAKE YOUR TIME, you haven't got to rush!! There's enough hours in the day to do everything you want or need to do. 



Investing in yourself will help you in so many ways, not only will you feel better about yourself but it will help you to feel more accomplished. 

Remember, people will always want to help so if someone can help you tick a few things off your list then let them help!

Do one thing every single day that allows you to refocus, so for me thats having a cup of mint tea in silence. It helps me to refocus and allows me to just think. 



What are you going to do to give up stress? 


Emma x

  

@Realist_Review 
SC @emmaroserobins

Moving Out | My Packing Tips

Thursday, 29 June 2017

Moving Out | My Packing Tips

As some of you may and may not know I will be moving into my first rented property soon and packing is quite possibly the most stressful thing ever ... So today I wanted to go through all the tips and tricks on what's helped me pack tactfully and keep the place relatively tidy! 


Buying little and often over a few months will save you mega bucks in the long run!

Packing slowly will help you clear out as you go, you have no idea how much of a hoarder you are until you pull everything out. 

Bubble wrap everything, the mugs / in-between the mugs / the plates / the candles ... everything. 


When your moving your TVs' use your duvet! It'll not only be one less thing to carry but also provide better cushioning to your breakables than bubble wrap on it's own. 

Your weekly shopping bags will be a god send for keeping your shoes together and also prevent them getting scuffed in the move.

Bars of soap are your best friend for your pants and socks, cardboard boxes can leave a smell so adding bars of soap to your boxes will help to keep everything smelling fresh. 



Write a list and check it twice, write a list of everything you've got and pack it into your boxes, this means when you unpack you can check it off and shouldn't be missing anything! 

Use your bedding sheets to pack out boxes with breakables, vases/ornaments can be wedged in with pillows and bed sheets to cushion them from vibrations. 

Write on your boxes Kitchen/Bathroom/Bedroom/Lounge, this means whoever is helping you move can take the boxes into those rooms without you worrying where they've gone. 

What are your top packing tips? 



Emma x

  

@Realist_Review 
SC @emmaroserobins

A Letter to My 15 Year Old Self

Thursday, 22 June 2017

A Letter to My 15 Year Old Self

Dear Emma, 

I know, it's hard. I know it's horrible and you have those thoughts ... continuously but you'll become so much stronger and help so many people by not pursuing them. Your confident underneath all that anxiety and depression, and yes you have anxiety and are depressed it's  just going to take a while for you to get it diagnosed, recognise it and come to terms with it. It will effect so many relationships and will continue too that you can't change, unfortunately, but it will also create so many relationships and help you to see a light in life that you didn't see before. 


You have to stand up for yourself and what you believe, if you don't think somethings right say something, speak up, be confident, be strong, be you. Your going to come across so many people who just don't like you, for no other reason than for just being you and that's okay because there them and your you and you do your on things. Keep your head down in school like you do and don't be too worried about those 'friendships' because you'll realise later on in life that they won't matter because the people who want to be your friend will stick around when you need them most, you'll learn that the hard way. 

Your not going to like mushrooms, cabbage or leek when your older ... no matter what your Dad says, your taste buds will not change and they will still all be rank.

Oh, and those body image concerns? Not being as skinny as everyone else, or as fit as everyone else, or having legs or abs like everyone else .... screw it. Your going to get to a point in your life where your so happy with your body and so confident in it you'll go to the beach one day in the UK no less, have your bikini on and sunbath and not give a damn what ANYONE else thinks .... and it'll feel epic. 

Your going to have a corner of the internet that's going to help you more than you can imagine and it's going to help others more than you could ever realise, your going to have moments when you just want to give up with it .... don't, keep going power through and you'll reap the rewards of what it can do for others. Ignore the haters, ignore the family/friends/work colleagues who disagree with you ... if you believe it's right and the mistake you have to make in order to be happy, make it. You have to make mistakes to learn from them and that's the greatest lesson you'll ever learn. 

And no matter what you think about any other metal in life, white gold is going to be your jam it's just going to take the right person to show you it is. 

You might not realise it or be told but your eyes and your smile are your best assets, look after them. There going to get you places and get you recognised, for all good things trust me! Your legs are long yes but that's what makes your waist look tiny and you'll learn the hard way by looking back at photos that you only really suit body con or close fitting dresses and outfits ... you cannot and i repeat cannot pull off skater of Aline, you look odd. Your beautiful inside and out you might not be told that very often but you are, and your worry will help also help so many people without you realising and sometimes you will realise because they'll find you. 

Remember, chin up, keep your head high and strong, heart full and mind positive, and remember you can change the world you just have to but try. 

Emma x

PS - If you want a tattoo(s) go and get it! Your worry may be a blessing but it can also be a pain in the arse. 


Staying Sun & Fitness Safe This Summer

Monday, 19 June 2017

Staying Sun & Fitness Safe This Summer

With the temperatures rising across England this week and everyone stripping off to make the most of it, I wanted to share the top ways that you can stay safe in the sun and also enjoy it! From sun worshipers to outside fitness fanatics. 


Exercising outside? Wear a hat!! You have no idea how fast you can dehydrate through your scalp.

Drink water, and then drink some more and then drink some more after that. 

Wear a sports suitable suncream, all sun creams nowadays come with sport options that are water and sweat repellent. 


Stay out of the sun between 12pm-3pm, this is when it's at it's hottest peak and can give you heatstroke. 

Keep alternating between the sun and the shade if your out all day, give your skin chance to have a break! 

Drinking drinks that have added electrolytes will really help to ensure that you keep hydrated and aren't dehydrating your body. 


Want to stay protected without having to cover up? Wear light breezy clothing that covers areas like your shoulders, you'll be able to stay cool and still look chic.

Overheating whilst your working out? Opt for clothing that has sweat wicking fabric, this will help to keep your body temperate regular and help to prevent you feeling faint. 

Emma x



  

@Realist_Review 
SC @emmaroserobins